The H. W. Harte Block/Crystal Falls Village Hall, photo c. 1983
Click above images to enlarge

Harte, H. W., Block / Crystal Falls Village Hall
414-418 Superior Avenue, Crystal Falls - Iron County
Other Names Bendick Building
Property Type frame building
Historic Use GOVERNMENT
Current Use COMMERCE/TRADE
Style Other
Narrative Description The H. W. Harte Block is a two-story frame, rectangular, gable-roof commercial structure with clapboard siding. Symmetrical in form, the facade exhibits a false front which, partially concealing the gable end, has a boldly projecting cornice supported by alternating paired and single brackets. The first-floor storefront retains its bracketed cornice, small-paned transom windows running the length of the facade, and recessed entranceway.
Statement of Significance The Henry W. Harte Block/Crystal Falls Village Hall is historically significant for having housed the Crystal Falls village and city offices from 1895 to 1913. Moved in 1895 and again in 1913, the structure is also significant in architectural terms as one of the few early, two-story, frame, commercial structures still standing in Crystal Falls. The structure was built around 1890 for Henry W. Harte, a prominent Crystal Falls lumberman. Joseph Bendick bought the building from the city in 1913 and had it moved across the street and one-half block up the hill to make room for the present City Hall, completed in 1914. He also modernized the storefront. The well preserved Harte Block has remained in Bendick family ownership and has not been altered since the time of its last move; it stands as a visual reminder of Crystal Falls' earlier period of mining-related growth.
Period of Significance 1866-1900
Significant Date(s) 1890, 1895, 1913
Registry Type(s) 12/22/1983 National Register listed
Site ID# P23509