White
Click above images to enlarge

White's Covered Bridge
Whitesbridge Road over the Flat River, south of 4 Mile Road, Keene Township - Ionia County
Property Type covered bridge
Historic Use TRANSPORTATION
Current Use TRANSPORTATION
Style Other
Architect/Builder J. N. Walker
Jared N. Brazee
Narrative Description White's covered bridge is a frame structure with a gable roof. It's construction is of the through truss type and the outsides of the trusses are completely sheeted over with rough pine boards. The floor is fourteen feet wide and one hundred sixteen and one-half feet long. All of the truss members and dimension lumber are hand hewed and secured with wooden pegs. The sheeting and roof boards were fastened to the rafters with handcut nails and the abutments were made of local fieldstone.
Marker Name White's Bridge
Marker Text WHITE'S BRIDGE This picturesque covered bridge, one of the last of its kind in Michigan, was built in 1867 by Jared N. Brazee and J. N. Walker, builders of several covered bridges in this area. The name of the bridge derives from the White family, a prominent pioneer family. The crossing of the Flat River here was known as White's Crossing before the first primitive bridge was built. In 1840 a bridge of log-corduroy construction was erected. It was replaced by this covered bridge, costing $1700. It is of the through-truss type with a gable roof. The hand-hewed trusses are sheeted over with rough pine boards. Wooden pegs and hand-cut square iron nails are used to secure the various parts of the bridge. White's Bridge has been in constant use since 1867, proof that it was well made. SPONSOR STRIP: Marker erected by Ionia County Road Commission 1965, Harry C. Johnson, Chairman; Ermal G. Garlinger; Sam J. Detmers
Period of Significance 1866-1900
Significant Date(s) 1867
Registry Type(s) 07/02/1965 Marker erected
02/17/1965 State Register listed
Site ID# P23472