Eggleston School, photo submitted 1996. Eggleston School, photo submitted 1996. Eggleston School, photo submitted 1996.
Click above images to enlarge

Eggleston School
10539Nolan Road, Village of Nester - Roscommon County
Property Type school
Historic Use EDUCATION/school
Current Use DOMESTIC/single dwelling
Style Other
Significant Person Mary E. Eggleston
Narrative Description The Eggleston School is a broad-fronted, hipped-roofed, rural public school building, which contained two classrooms upstairs and an auditorium/gymnasium/cafeteria room downstairs before its recent conversion to a single-family residence. The school, which faces west, is located on the southeast corner of Nolan Road and Muma Road, near the center of Section 19 in Nester Township of Roscommon County. It stands on a five-acre parcel of land that includes a small cemetery located near the southeast corner of the structure. The Eggleston School is architecturally unique in its elaborate use of large, split pieces of fieldstone set in an abstract pattern for decorative effect. It has a concrete and fieldstone foundation. The structure has thirty-three double-hung, six-over-six-pane wood windows. The roof features eyebrow dormers on both ends and the rear as well as a pyramid-roof cupola.
Statement of Significance The Eggleston School is a well-preserved example of an early twentieth-century two-classroom rural public school building. It is especially notable for its fine masonry exterior constructed of fieldstone blocks of various shapes, sizes, and hues. All of the wall surfaces, but especially the entrance vestibule's facade, have a mosaic-like quality because of the use of large, shaped stones beautifully fitted together. The school is also important for its direct association with Mary Eggleston, Nester Township's largest resident property owner, who provided financial assistance to make possible construction of such a fine school building in this sparsely settled area.
Period of Significance 1934-1934
Significant Date(s) 1934
Registry Type(s) 04/04/1996 National Register listed
02/29/1996 State Register listed
Site ID# P575